The Meath Foundation Education Fund was established to assist staff who wished to obtain a Higher Degree. The Fund is co-managed with the Human Resources Directorate and funding is awarded on the basis that the successful applicant funds one third of the cost, the Hospital as the employer funds one third and The Foundation funds the balancing third.

Applications are welcome from all disciplines of staff and funding is awarded following a keenly competitive process.

Please note applicants for any of our programmes must be members of staff and/or have a contractual commitment to work in Tallaght Hospital.

The successful applicants are awarded Meath Foundation Fellowships and awards will be presented at our Research Symposium to be held on Friday, 30th November 2018.

On graduation Fellows may be invited to present an abstract of their research at the Research Symposium.

For information on the application process please see the CLD prospectus or email for further information.

Applications for funding should be made through the

Centre for Learning and Development.



The following were the first group awarded Fellowships in 2013 and graduated in 2015 with an MSc. in Leadership:

  • Amy Carswell, Business Manager
  • Claire Hartin, Research and Ethics Co-ordinator
  • Kerry Ryder, Applicant Support Manager ICT
  • Niamh Smyth, Clinical Specialist Dietician
  • Elaine Sweeney, CNM1
  • Anne Murphy, Human Resources Manager (Deferred – Graduated 2016)

The successful applicants in 2014 and graduated 2016 with an MSc. in Leadership were:

  • Treacy Brady, Accountant
  • Jacinta Burke, Out of Hours Hospital Site Manager
  • Catriona Higgins, Senior Medical Scientist
  • Sharon Larkin, Human Resources Operations Manager
  • Ian O’Gorman, Head of Catering

The successful applicants in 2015 and graduated in 2017 with and MSc in Leadership were:

  • Frederick Guarin, Clinical Nurse Manager
  • Anna Delhunt, Senior Paediatric Dietitian
  • Aine O’Brien, Deputy Physiotherapy Manager
  • Ciaran Love, Senior Medical Scientist

The successful applicants in 2016 were:

  • Mairead Holland Flynn Advance Nurse Practitioner,
  • Marie McCarthy HR Business Partner
  • Claire Broderick Patient Flow Manager

Initially the Fellowships enabled staff to study for an MSc. in Leadership However at the request of staff we widened the courses to include:

  • Leadership
  • Quality & Safety in Healthcare Management
  • Healthcare Management

The successful applicants in 2017 were:

  • Alison Harper, Chief Medical Scientist –  Leadership
  • John Kelly, Director of Pastoral Care –  Leadership
  • Averil Larke, Hospital PPPG Co-ordinator & Qpulse Administrator –  Quality & Safety in Healthcare Management
  • Siobhán Ní Bhrian, Consultant Old Age Psychiatrist –  Leadership
  • Alden Soberano, CNM1 – Health Care Management